TapRoot Farms / Flax/Linen Links

TapRoot Fibre Lab

Interesting Links Related to Flax and Linen

 

General flax information

Flax Cultivation: http://www.angelfire.com/me/absent/plants/linumusitatissimum.html

Richters: https://www.richters.com/show.cgi?page=InfoSheets/d2701.html

Saneco: http://www.saneco.com/spip.php?rubrique1&lang=en

Maison Du Lin: http://www.lin.asso.fr/

European Linen and Hemp: http://www.mastersoflinen.com/

Fedustria: http://www.febeltex.be/Content/Default.asp?

Belgian Linen: http://www.belgianlinen.com/

Fibre & Textiles in Eastern Europe: http://www.fibtex.lodz.pl/

How to History: http://www.howtohistory.com/2010/11/how-to-process-flax-into-lin

Flax for Sale: http://flaxforsale.com/html/flax_process.html

Discover Natural Fibres: http://www.naturalfibres2009.org/en/index.html

Antidote: https://antidotecounteragent.wordpress.com/2011/10/08/the-fourth-step-to-self-reliance/

 

Small-scale flax processing

Irish Linen: http://www.irishlinen.co.uk/

 

Linen fabrics, home textiles, and clothing suppliers

VAVA! VEVE!: http://www.vavaveve.com/

South Street Linen: http://www.southstreetlinen.com/about.html

Linen Way: http://linenway.com/

FLAX Design clothing: http://www.flaxdesigns.com/index.php

Procotex: http://en.procotex.com/index.php

Wild Fibres: http://www.wildfibres.co.uk/index.html

Brahms Mount: http://www.brahmsmount.com/

LIBECO: http://www.libeco.com/en/about-linen/ecological-aspects.aspx

Biolin: http://www.biolin.sk.ca/potential%201.htm#.VOdbdPnF9Ee

Linens for Life: http://www.linensforlife.com/index.htm

Whitney Linen: http://whitneylinen.com/blog/

Cut Loose: http://www.cutloose.com/

Rawganigue: http://www.rawganique.com/

Urbanity: http://www.urbanity.ca/clothing/

Frog Linen Work: http://www.foglinenwork.com/en/

UCHIT: http://www.uchit.biz/#socialenterprise

Epic Linen: http://www.epiclinen.com/en/

The White Company: http://www.thewhitecompany.com/

Linen Tail: http://www.linentales.com/

Keep House: http://www.keephouse.ca/

Rain Goose Textiles: http://www.raingoose.com/

Petits Mots: http://www.petitsmots.ca/

Bryn Walker: http://www.brynwalker.com/index.htm

Hollyhock: http://hollyhockuk.com/

Good Linens: http://www.goodlinens.com/

Arcadian Dreams: http://arcadiandreams.co/index

Linen Patch: http://www.linen-patch.com/

McBurney and Black: http://www.mcburneyandblack.com/home

Linens Linens: http://www.linenlinens.com/index.html

PLANET: http://www.planetclothingonline.com/index.html

LaVen Fashions: http://www.lavenfashions.com/index.php

LinenMe: http://www.linenme.com/news/

Monde Enterprise: http://www.mondelinen.com/en/product/index.asp

Linen Linens:http://www.linenlinens.com/index.html

Shop Frog Linen: http://www.shop-foglinen.com/

Baltic Flax: http://www.baltic-flax.com/flax-fibres/cottonised-flax

Couture Lin: http://www.couturelin.com/

Fabric store: http://www.fabrics-store.com/

Online Fabric Store: https://www.onlinefabricstore.net/

World Linen & Textile Company: http://www.worldlinen.com/index.htm

 

Linen yarn suppliers

FIR Group: http://fir-group.com/

Hungaro-Len: http://www.hungarolen.hu/index.php?option=com_content&view=frontpage&Itemid=1&lang=en

Safilinhttp://www.safilin.fr/

Spinnerij-Lambrecht: http://www.spinnerij-lambrecht.be/site/products.php?l=en

Shi Bui: http://www.shibuiknits.com/Yarn/Colorways.php?Yarn=Linen

EuroFlax: http://www.louet.com/category/Euroflax/Euroflax

Rowan Pure Linen Yarn: http://www.paradisefibers.com/rowan-pure-linen-yarn.html

Lit Yarn: http://www.goodyarnshop.com/index/linen/0-6

Halcyon Yarn: https://halcyonyarn.com/yarn/1781010M/newport-162-linen-yarn

 

Conferences and associations

Nova Scotia Fibre Festival: http://www.fibreartsfestival.com/

The Fibre Festival of New England: http://www.thebige.com/ese/fiber-festival/

The National Needlearts Association: http://www.tnna.org/group/YarnGroup

World of Threads Festivals: http://www.worldofthreadsfestival.com/festival.html

The Stahlstown Flax Scutching Festival: http://www.flaxscutching.org/

EartHand Gleaners Society: http://earthand.com/

China Bast and Leaf Fibres Textile Association: http://www.cblfta.org.cn/

Manitoba Flax Growers Association: http://mfga.ca/

Flax Council Of Canada: http://flaxcouncil.ca/

Saskatchewan Flax Development: http://www.saskflax.com/

Textile Society of America: http://textilesocietyofamerica.org/

College Art Association: http://www.collegeart.org/

Universities Art Association of Canada: http://www.uaac-aauc.com/en

The Cohousing Association of the United Stateshttp://www.cohousing.org/

Slow Textiles Group: http://slowtextiles.blogspot.ca/

 

Dyeing

Woad Extraction: http://www.woad.org.uk/html/extraction.html

Fat Hen Wild Wool: http://fathenwildwool.blogspot.ca/2012/10/woad-wonderful-woad-growing-and-dyeing.html

Wearing Woad: http://www.wearingwoad.com/woad-part-1-when-to-harvest/

Local Color Dyes: http://localcolordyes.com/blog/2015/11/22/more-about-flax-seed-maturity/

 

Textiles

All Fibre Arts: http://www.allfiberarts.com/cs/classes.htm

Textile Fiberspace: http://www.textilefiberspace.com/trade/

Teonline: http://www.teonline.com/knowledge-centre/fiber-yarn-threads.html

 

Journals, magazines, and blogs

FiberARTS: http://www.fiberarts.com/

Fiber Art Now: http://fiberartnow.net/

Society of Wood Science and Technology: http://www.swst.org/publications/wfs/

Springer: http://www.springer.com/chemistry/polymer+science/journal/12221

Journal of Natural Fibers: http://www.researchgate.net/journal/1544-0478_Journal_of_Natural_Fibers

International Fiber Journal: http://www.ifj.com/

Textile Artist: http://www.textileartist.org/the-best-textile-art-magazines/

Agricultural Utilization Research Institute: http://www.auri.org/news/ag-innovation-news/

Cordwainers Garden: https://cordwainersgarden.wordpress.com/

Ecouterre: http://www.ecouterre.com/category/textiles/

Seeds of Fashion: http://www.seedsoffashion.com/

Flax to Linen: http://flaxtolinenvictoriabc.blogspot.ca/

Red Thread Studio: http://lainie.typepad.com/

 

Papermaking

Paperslurry's tutorial on how to make your own mould and deckle: http://paperslurry.com/2014/08/01/make-mould/

Paperslurry's papermaking with plants poster: http://paperslurry.com/2014/08/20/hand-papermaking-with-plants-illustrated-infographic/

Liz-anna's Lakeside Studio:http://liz-annaslakesidestudio.blogspot.ca/2010/06/papermaking-tutorial.html

Hand Papermaking's "Harvesting Fibres" article: http://newsletter.handpapermaking.org/beginner/beg72.htm

Hand Papermaking's "Sources of Fibre and Pulp" article:  http://newsletter.handpapermaking.org/beginner/beg17.htm

Hand Papermaking's "Methods of Beating Fibre" article: http://newsletter.handpapermaking.org/beginner/beg33.htm

Hand Papermaking's "Assessing Your Pulp and Paper" article: http://newsletter.handpapermaking.org/beginner/beg88.htm

Hand Papermaking's "Sheet Formation & Uniformity" articles: http://newsletter.handpapermaking.org/beginner/beg53.htm

 

Small-scale seed processing

Organic Seed Processing: Threshing, Cleaning, and Storage: 

http://www.extension.org/pages/18350/organic-seed-processing:-threshing-cleaning-and-storage#.VVs7fflVikp

Seed Extraction and Cleaning: 

http://www.fao.org/docrep/006/q2190e/Q2190E05.htm

Small-Scale Organic Seed Production PDF:

http://certifiedorganic.bc.ca/programs/osdp/I-066%20Seed%20Handbook%20v5.pdf

Small Scale Grain and Pulse Production:

http://grainsandpulses.blogspot.ca/2008/05/cleaning-up.html

How do I thresh grain on a small scale?: http://www.islandgrains.com/how-do-i-thresh-grain-on-a-small-scale/

Cleaning Blue Flax Seeds forum:

http://forums.gardenweb.com/discussions/2147726/cleaning-blue-flax-seeds-linum-narbonense

It's Not Too Early to Think of Seed Cleaning:  http://www.organicagcentre.ca/NewspaperArticles/na_seed_cleaning_ts_bf.asp

Northern Grain Growers' Flax information PDF:  http://northerngraingrowers.org/wp-content/uploads/FLAX.pdf

 

Small-scale seed processing equipment

Grain Processing Equipment: From Field to Bin:  

http://umaine.edu/localwheat/files/2012/06/Grain-Processing-Equipment.pdf

RGO Sales Inc. - Grain Cleaners Canada: 

http://www.rgosales.com/grain_cleaners.html

Hand Tester Kits: http://www.flamangraincleaning.com/products/hand-tester-kits-5#.VVs7C_lVikq

Flaman Grain Cleaning & Handling Systems Catalog: 

http://www.flaman.com/grain/pdfs/flaman-grain-cleaning-product-catalogue-2012-01.pdf

Lily & Rose Seed Processors: http://www.organicflaxcanada.com/#!page3/cee5